The internet is a great course of information and has opened up opportunities for people to learn all over the world. Is all information is reliable on internet? What could be done to control information online?

It is true that internet has an important role for people in gaining knowledge and acquainting with information throughout the world. While internet can sometimes be unreliable, I believe that individuals can take certain measures to deal with these problems. The first reason internet might be unreliable is that it has the access to the personal data. While creating accounts on computers or mobile phones, people should give all the information about themselves, which would be saved in the archives. Hackers can access to systems to steal the data from bank accounts and credit cards. For example, in 2018, the amount of money that was lost by organisations from online crimes accounted for almost 2. 8 billion dollars. The fact that people can be tricked by opening email attachments is the second reason for the unreliability of the internet. Some of the cyber criminals spread computer viruses that can be installed without a user's knowledge, coming in the form of an email attachment. To illustrate, a virus named Zeus was developed by American cyber criminals to infect a computer system. In terms of measures that can be taken to tackle these problems, I think that two most effective ways are to change passwords of accounts regularly and to install antivirus programmes. With regards to the former, if individuals change the passwords of their own accounts, they will insure the safety of their personal information because it would be difficult for hackers to access the system. Moving on to the latter, there are some computer programmes that can protect the whole system by stopping the spread of the viruses. As an example, Microsoft company introduced the software ‘Microsoft Scanner’ that prevents systems from cyber attacks. In conclusion, internet has become an indispensable source of education for people all over the world. However, it causes some problems due to its unreliability, which can be tackled by changing the passwords of private data and by using antivirus programmes.