The internet has made knowledge immediately available to people through computers and smartphones all around the world. Much of this knowledge is also free. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

The internet has become an increasingly popular source of information. By accessing it, one could obtain as much knowledge as possible instantly and without any charges. This essay will discuss both the benefits and the drawbacks of it. There are numerous advantages to this internet-based learning. Often, the main reason why people opt to access the internet for learning is due to its flexibility factor. One can now have the access to the information anywhere and anytime, which is extremely helpful for many. For example, people nowadays are no longer required to spend their time borrowing books from the library as they can easily find the information via Google. In addition, the internet has assisted many people in learning by providing them with free online resources so that these learners do not have to spend any cash for it. The Wikipedia, for instance, allows the people to access and contribute in sharing the knowledge worldwide. Overall, this technology has helped people to be more flexible in learning without any cost involved. Readily available knowledge is not without its disadvantages, however. As we may be aware, the information is sometimes unreliable as the source cannot be guaranteed to tell us the truth. This situation can be seen from the availability of fake news, which spread all over the internet uncontrollably. Furthermore, many people have become lazier in studying since the existence of the internet. Many students, for example, usually tend to simply copy-and-paste the answer from the websites rather than answering it on their own. Therefore, one must be aware that internet can be unreliable and make us lazier than ever before. In conclusion, this essay has discussed both positive aspects of the online-based learning, such as flexible and free, as well as its negative aspects, such unreliable and make us lazier. In short, although this technology is beneficial for learning, we must be aware of its consequences too.