The internet has made knowledge immediately available to people through computers and smartphones all around the world. Much of this knowledge is also free. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

The internet is a massive repository of human skill and it continues to accumulate more every day. At the click of a button, one can access information on just about any topic, from the abstract to the mundane. Not only is the information immediately, but it is also free. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this trend. On the one hand, the internet offers in-depth information on any topic in a fraction of seconds. Firstly, it provides many websites which have accumulated vast understanding from many sources, making it easier for educational purposes. If this option is not available, then students will be forced to read/refer various books or speak to an expert to get answers to their questions. Secondly, the internet has made information gathering an enjoyable activity. For example, we can learn about geography or historical information about our home or favourite places with the help of multimedia applications. Overall, we can get abundant capacity through the internet. However, readily available information is not without its disadvantages. Some of the material/content we access on the internet may not be genuine. For instance, a few may carry propaganda or fake information and direct users to do harmful things. Studies have shown that many terror outfits misuse social media platforms to lure youngsters into becoming a part of them. This is indeed a dangerous aspect of the internet and users should be prepared to protect themselves from such threats. Internet is a medium to get instant wisdom and information. This essay discusses both the advantages and disadvantages of free and immediate information available on the internet. In a nutshell, while the benefits are enormous, the drawbacks should not be overlooked.