Nowadays people are affected by social media and internet. Is it a good or bad trend in your opinion? Explain it by giving your own examples.

There is no doubt that technological advancements have changed our lives. Therefore, some individuals believe that the internet and social media have greatly influenced the folks. In my opinion, this trend has more benefits than drawbacks and I will discuss about it in the essay. Technological advances have proved a boon to us in the number of ways. First of all, it is now easier to access new information. This is because of various search engines available, such as Google and Yahoo as one can get thousands of results by typing the topic-related keywords. Moreover, there are plenty of educational groups on social networking websites such as Facebook and Whatsapp and members can get subject-related information on these groups. This would be beneficial for students as well as scientific communities, who could read plenty of novel research through these mediums. Despite the above-mentioned advantages, there are some pitfalls associated with the use of the world wide web and social media. First of all, the social media has negatively influenced the lives of youngsters as they spend most of their time on social media while posting stuffs and updating status. For example, Instagram is a social networking platform where the number of followers access an individual's popularity. Therefore, in order to gain popularity, teenagers start showing off their lives on the internet, thus giving the chance to the stalkers and blackmailers to harm them. In conclusion, although the internet and social networking sites have some negative impacts on youth, data access and better connectivity are the positive points which outweigh them. I believe that these pitfalls can be overcome if we start giving prior instructions to our children regarding the limited and safe usage of these sources.