Governments spend a lot of money on public celebrations such as national holidays and public festivals. Some people say that the government spends too much on this and that they should use this money on other useful things.

"These days One of the most spoken issues is whether government should avoid spending on public celebrations. Since I believe such activities are vital for a country’s customs and traditions, I disagree with this notion. To begin with important events in the history like nation’s independence, formation of republic government is vital milestones achieved by enormous hard work and sacrifices of our ancestors. It is mandatory to appreciate and acknowledge the privilege given to us by honouring and remembering them. For instance, on Independence day, authorities spend a lot of money to organize events from parades to cultural events like dance, music and art which portray our culture and heritage. These events attract people from around the nation and even from remote countries to witness the grand celebration. This, in turn brings in more money to the economy through people’s travel, shopping and sometimes even through donation. Another Reason why I disagree because festivals like Holi, Diwali are celebrated across the nation in a grand manner, which I feel is crucial for individuals and for society. The government is setting up a platform for these festivals, facilitate people to come together and enjoy. Nowadays, most of the families are nuclear, and an event like this in the city gives them an opportunity to get out and spend time with friends and families. Furthermore, it helps our next generation to learn why we celebrate by learning our history and the intricacies of the rituals followed in each kind of festival. In conclusion, I firmly agree that money used by the ministry of the nation for celebrating the festivities and social events are essential as it ensures to bring peace and union in the country