The inequality between rich and poor nations is now wider than it has ever been before. What do you think are the main causes of this difference and what do you think can be done to reduce the gap?

It is true that young people graduate from high school without leaning how to manage their personal finances. There are several reasons for this problem and various measures can be taken by educational institutions and family to improve the situation. Firstly, educational institutes have the most powerful influence on children’s development, but in nowadays, most of all schools do not teach young students personal money management. In addition, most students do not need to work to earn money due to the fact that school boards focus on science subject or social studies, so children do not learn earning and spend money. Second, many children rely on allowance from their parents; therefore, they do not understand about the realities of earning and saving money. For instance, young children usually receive amounts of pocket-money from their parent without realizing that how to earn that money; this will have a negative impact on the way children spend money in the future. The way to solve this problem is that academic institutions should equip their students with the knowledge and skills to manage their personal finances. For example, schools need to give basic money management lessons as a compulsory subject for students. Another solution is parents should educate their children on this matter at home because parents play a vital role in teaching their children how to spend money. To illustrate, parents can give their children an amount of money when they travel; therefore, young people have to manage their personal budget. This solution helps young children to become more financially dependent, and they can avoid overspending money. Furthermore, young people will be better prepared to deal with the problems of adult life. In conclusion, although personal money management is a problem for the majority of school leavers, there are also some measures to solve this problem.