The important of biodiversity is being widely recognised as increasing bumbers of species come under threat. What can be done to maintain biodiversity.

It is undeniable that natural resources come under increasing pressure and the list of endangered plants and animals continuous to grow. There many reason for this consequence such as developments in agriculture, mining, logging or transport. Some people think that the loss of biodiversity is a price we must pay for progress. In my opinion, the government should be protect the world’s plants and animals. On the one hand, government should be encourages greater understanding of plants and animals. Firstly, government could introduce the important of biodiversity to many people through leaflets, newspaper or on the television. Secondly, they also could invest in the research and preservation efforts of universities, zoos and botanical institutes. This may ensure the survival of individual species and reduction some people destroyed habitat’s plants and kills animals to production new medicines and products. However, this strategy alone would do little to protect whole ecosystems that are under threat. On the other hand, an alternative strategy would be to protect natural habitats by expanding nature reserves. This would have positive results for those areas by preserving delicate ecosystems. Nevertheless, this strategy also has limitations. It does not protect from phenomena such as acid rain and water pollution which lead to affect large areas. However, there are many solution to limit the damage at its source. The government should be required to demonstrate that they have taken all reasonable efforts to minimize the damage. In addition, public contracts for roads and buildings should only be awarded to firms that have a good environment track record. In conclusion, we need to protect the world’s plants and animals and reduction the loss of biodiversity.