The importance of biodiversity is being more widely recognised as increasing numbers of species come under threat.

Today, the number of species under extinction threat is increasing and that is showing us the importance of biodiversity.   Fortunately, it is not too late to maintain biodiversity. With small but effective changes we can save many species. First of all, reducing the water pollution can create a great relieve on water species. According to the biologists, the 80 % of all existing creatures are living in the water. Water Pollution is reducing the kinds and population of that creature day by day. Chemical and biological wastages are kept polluting fresh water reserves and seas. For example every year a million gallon of polluted water was discharged into the rivers and sea in Istanbul. Because, there were no sewer treatment facilities in Istanbul, the sea became too polluted and there was nearly no underwater life. After government decided and build sewer treatment facilities, Water reserves and sea have become clearer and it has a great impact on biodiversity. Today curious eyes can even see the dolphins in there. Another caution for maintaining biodiversity is forestation. Today most of the land creatures are need forests for living and forestation can create new living areas for many kinds of creatures, especially for mammals. The best example of it is the city of Abu Dhabi. İn the seventies, Emirate of Abu Dhabi decided to create a forest in the desert. After a well-organised forestation plan, they managed to create a forest and today it is a great attraction point to people who want to see the forest habitat. There are many kinds of creatures from mammals to endemic insects. As a result, today extinction is a great threat to many species. The pollution caused by people and deforestation causes great risks for many kinds of species. On the other hand, it is not too late for many of them. With small action, we can prevent the extinction of a lot of species and we can maintain the biodiversity.