The highways department blames the high road toll on poor vehicle maintenance. However, there are strict laws regarding vehicle maintenance and road worthiness, and there are frequent inspections. The roads are very poor and badly maintained.

Road traffic accidents and traffic issues are two major problems all around the globe. There are more debates about the poorly maintained vehicles and toll collecting centres along the highways. In fact, travel network, roads, and traffic system in many parts of the world are in poor condition and need repairing. However, in my opinion, frequent road inspection and regulation by law is needed to ensure safety condition of the road and vehicles. Obviously, thousands of people lose their life because of alleged road traffic accidents. It is important to maintain the good condition of roads. For instance, India is the country with 4 different climates and road network around the country is in a bad condition during Monsoon. Roads during this time become slippery and gutters make the travel dangerous for people. A large number of motor-vehicle travellers die each year due to the poor maintenance of roads and traffic. So it is important to safeguard the public and government and law enforcing authorities have important roles to play for this. Firstly, the government collects a huge amount of money every year as vehicle tax. This money should be utilised to modify and repair the old, poor conditioned roads. There is news about the corruption in public work departments and the unscientific ways of building the roads. So government should be strict to control such corruption and misconduct. Penalties should be imposed on engineers and companies who show any sign of corruption and negligence from their side. The company who handled the work and had produced faulty output should be banned from future work. Continuously, there are toll centres along the highways and they are collecting money for many years. the government should make sure this money is used for road safety. Finally, the public transportation system in many areas is old and need repair and renovation. Safety standards for all vehicles should be inspected periodically. In conclusion, road accidents are one of the leading causes of death in many countries and it is the government’s responsibility to save its citizens from such accident. By improving the standard of roads, imposing strict punishment for violation of traffic rule, monitoring development work, the government can play its role while the citizens should obey the traffic rule in every way possible to minimise this casualty.