The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing.

It is argued that increase in internet shopping will eventually lead to the closure of shops in towns and cities. This essay disagrees with the statement and believes that traditional shopping will always be an imperative mode for making purchases. This essay will firstly discuss how in-store shopping is a necessity in under developed or ignorant areas and secondly, the risk of unknown primarily makes online shopping a second option. Despite the fact that usage of modern communication devices has risen, still there is a great proportion of the population who does not know how to operate a simple mobile phone. The 775 million illiterate people around the globe can meet their shopping needs primarily through the conventional mediums. For example, in a developing country Pakistan, there are only 22% internet subscribers. However, it is an undeniable fact that online purchasing though minimal, is on the rise even in underprivileged areas of the world. Secondly, online shopping does not ensure peace of mind in terms of reliability of the product. The consumer has to make a purchase on the basis of the virtual details available on the online portals. They cannot physically examine the product to check for being appropriate and genuine according to the need. For example, according to a recent survey in Pakistan, people rated product's originality as the biggest concern in making an online purchase. However, internet shopping through the variety, time saving and competitively lower pricing has become 'a youth's favourite'. In conclusion, in-store shopping with its exclusive benefits is a necessity for a bigger population that cannot be completely replaced by its counterpart, virtual shopping ever.