Some parent say that giving expensive gifts to a child can create bad habits in him/her.

It is argued that by some parents that bad behaviour would increase in children by giving luxury gifts to them. I completely agree with this statement, because costly gifts have a lot of negative effects in terms of personal and social aspects which be discussed in the following essay. First of all, the high-priced gift has a number of personal effects. When children receive a valuable gift, the children’s expectation does significantly increase among them. For example, in nuclear families, parents who buy a smartphone from well-known manufactures such as apple company which its products are too expensive, after a while, their children would want a MacBook which their parents may not be able to buy it. This situation can lead to increase conflict among parents and their kids. Therefore, parents have to buy an expensive gift to prevent aggressive behaviour in their children. Secondly, apart from creating exceeded expectations, children who are given them luxury gifts, gradually they feel proud of their things and may consider themselves higher than other peers in terms of financial ability. So, discrimination will expand in society among rich and poor individuals. For instance, one of my friends received the latest models of car from her father on her birthday occasion, but her friends do not have the financial strength to buy such expensive gifts and day feel inferior in front of their prestigious gift. From what has been discussed, I believe that we cannot deny the drawbacks of luxury gifts on a child’s behaviour because of the growth bad habits such as aggressive behaviour, as well as this, they have a negative effect on society in terms of making the gap between individuals.