In some areas of the US, a 'curfew' is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

Teenager's safety, in certain areas of the US, has become a concern and, in light of this, the government has imposed a "curfew" on teenagers spending time outside their homes beyond a certain hour at night. Although this restriction should reduce the number of criminal incidences against teenagers outside their homes, in my opinion instead of curbing their mobility the focus should be on increased vigilance, identification and prosecution of criminals. Recent incidences have come to light where unaccompanied young adults and children have become the target of criminals in the smaller cities of US. These incidences are generally reported to happen later in the night and have included crimes like theft, gun violence and sexual assault. Due to lower levels of visibility and lack of enough lighting, late night has always been the preferred time for perpetrators of crime. Although it is sad, but young ones like children and teenagers are easy targets of such attacks and has created an alarming situation in these areas. Keeping in mind the safety of the young population, the government has come up with a restriction on the movement of teenagers outside their homes without an accompanying adult. Such a move reduces the young people's ability to navigate their society and develop fully and instead might instil a fear in them of being outside their homes alone. Also, this would not help in sending the criminals behind bars and eliminating the root-cause. In conclusion, I believe the government should make it a priority to increase vigilance in the probable areas and investigate in a more thorough manner to arrest the criminals. The mobility restriction seems more of a knee-jerk reaction to the problem than a well-thought-out solution.