The government should task unhealthy food so that more people will be encouraged to eat healthy food

It is being suggested that to promote healthy eating   amongst individuals, the government must enforce a levy on processed foods. I agree with this statement because imposing taxes on fatty foods could lead to a hike in price and also promote the availability of healthy food options at an affordable rate. Government imposed taxes on junk food may lead to an increase in the prices.   These exorbitant prices of fast foods could discourage individuals from consuming them. For instance, the UAE government tariff on fizzy drinks and sugary foods is high and the prices of such products are pumped up thus reducing the rate at which people buy them. This has led to a healthier population with a decline in the rate of diseases associated with unhealthy eating. Therefore, it seems that a hike in the prices of fast foods could be the solution to promoting a healthy lifestyle. The availability of healthy food options at an affordable rate could be a way to encourage humans to eat healthy. This can be done if the government could  channel the funds obtained from junk food taxes into reducing the  cost of production of organic foods hence  making them readily available at low cost. A good example can be seen in New Zealand, where the government assist small scale farmers with easy loans to grow natural foods in the country.   This has led to the availability of fresh and cheap foods. In conclusion, I believe that taxes imposed on junk food could discourage individuals from consuming them. It could also promote healthy eating among the people, if the government can ensure that healthier alternatives would be easily accessible at cheaper rates.