The government should reduce the amount of money spent on local environmental problems and instead increase funding into urgent and more threatening issues such as global warming. To what extend do you agree?

Environmental issues either at the local level or at the global scale require massive support from the administrations across the world. It is argued that the government should lessen its spending on domestic environmental issues and allocate more funding towards more urgent and pressing issues like global warming. I disagree with this argument that investing in solving domestic environmental problems require fewer resources as compared to the other major environmental issues. To begin with, all the major environmental concerns of today have evolved from pollution created at the local scale. In other words, global warming is the outcome of an increasing amount of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere by cities around the world. For example, an increasing number of motor vehicles in cities is one of the significant factors which needs immediate attention from the administration. In some countries, governments are taking some crucial steps in this regard, suchsuch as discouraging car usage by introducing efficient mass transport systems in cities, which requires a sizeable amount of investment. Therefore, reducing the amount of money to be spent on overcoming this problem will result in more damage to the global environment. Moreover, besides the rising level of pollutants in the air by cars in cities, most of the countries are also accelerating global warming through deforestation. Forests are considered as the lungs of the earth, which absorb carbon dioxide and release oxygen to the atmosphere. This process not only keeps the air clean but also regulates the earth surface temperature. But some developing countries are clear-cutting their forests in order to maintain their lifestyle. However, governments in these countries have started to realize the impact of deforestation and now they are moving towards implementing conservation and preservation policies to protect these forests. Moreover, some states have also started reforestation activities. For instance, recently, Ethiopia sets a world record to plant 350 million trees to the designated areas across the country within 12 hours. In conclusion, in my opinion, local environmental issues such as greenhouse gas emission and deforestation are the most critical factors which lead to the most pressing problem of global warming today. Therefore, the governments ought to continue funding the solutions to these issues rather than discontinue it.