The government should not waste money on arts as this money would be better spent on other projects like sanitation or infrastructure.

It is argued by many people that the ministry should not spend funds on arts and should rather invest the same for sanitation and infrastructure. I completely disagree with this, as along with investing money on infrastructure and sanitation, some portion of the money should be kept aside for the arts. To begin with, the art and culture of a nation depict its heritage, therefore, makes it vital for the government to keep some funds aside for the arts. The expenditure to maintain the monuments and the museums have huge costs, and the same cannot be managed without the support from the ministry. In addition, when we maintain the arts and culture, it will encourage more tourists to visit our country, leading to an increase in the revenue. To illustrate, Rome is known for its art and culture, it is one of the main reasons why it is a popular destination for the visit of tourists. However, for a developing country, the government should focus on providing proper sanitation and infrastructure facilities for its citizens. This means the government will need funds that would help in improving the sanitation levels and also the infrastructure of the city. This would mean, there would be very less funds which could be invested in the arts. Better sanitation conditions can result in reducing the diseases and good infrastructure will improve the trades and the daily commuting in the nation. To conclude, some portion of the money should to spend on arts and culture which will help in preserving our heritage and also generating more revenue from tourism, however the government should first look at improving the sanitation and infrastructure levels in the country.