A common thread among many young people is a concern over the tuition fee. Wealthier people were more likely to pursue four-year universities, while those from poorer families leaned toward other options.

Some students are trying to work and study simultaneously for solving the college affordability and they found difficulties to balance both sides. In the past, students could find the money to pay for university by pinching pennies and working a part-time job. For example, people’s willingness to pay was often determined by how much of their savings and weekly earnings could be devoted to paying tuition, while still having enough to cover other expenses. In today’s high-tuition and potentially high-reward system of higher education, that manner of thinking about college affordability simply does not work. For instance, the saving often falls short of the cost of higher education and families are relying on debt to pay for a growing fraction of tuition. This has left consumers struggling to understand what is affordable to them and how to make decisions about the enrolment. Nevertheless, there are promising policy solutions that tackle the cost of college and the debt of students. Consider, for instance, the proposal to refinance outstanding student loan debt at lower interest rates. Another policy solution that has recently gained widespread support is making university free. Free university certainly solves the problem of students lacking the cash on hand to pay for college, but it obfuscates the issue of affordability by shifting the expense to taxpayers without regard for the likely negative implications for both individual and societal return on investment. Overall, the cost of higher education is higher than it has ever been and it is putting a pressure on students for solving that cost and finishing the educational programs. Despite some people can find the answers from part-time jobs and saving, they still need support from the public policies.