The government should make more efforts to promote alternative sources of energy.

Many people believe that the government should emphasise more on alternative energies these days. To a certain point, I would agree with that, but the government should also have measurable calculation before they shift the energy resources. For a number of reasons, it is believed that the government should have extensive promotions on alternative sources of energy. Firstly, it is a fact that many new energy resources are friendlier to the environment rather than the existing sources of energy. For example, the usage of the solar panel system is booming these days due to they are not producing any carbon monoxide. Secondly, the most common sources of energy that people use nowadays are not renewable. For example, most countries use oil, gas and coal as their sources of energy currently, and we all know that these energies are limited. As millions of people are using these sources every day, it will run out in the future. We should be concerned with how the future generation will get their sources of energies by thinking of alternative resources. On the other hand, before the government promotes these alternative energies, they must have a well-prepared feasibility study. They must ensure that those alternative sources of energy are safe for the environment. For instance, when the authority decides to use a nuclear reactor as a replacement of a diesel electric plant, they must ensure that it is safe. Any leakage from the plant would cause a disaster for the whole nation, just like in the case of the Chernobyl or Fukushima plants. And then the government should also think how it will impact the unemployment rate. When new alternative energies are promoted, it means that there is a risk that the demand of existing energies will be reduced. Consequently, large energy companies such as Chevron or Shell will reduce their employees. The government should have properly anticipated, plan and have the right solution for it. In conclusion, to a certain extent, I would agree that the government should put more emphasis on new alternative energy these days, but it should also be supported with measurable and feasible studies.