Fossil fuels (coal, oil, natural gas) are the main sources in many countries, but in some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy (wind energy and solar energy) are encouraged. To what extent do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Since dawn of the civilization, the source of energy has been major concern for the mankind. Conventionally, fossil fuels such as coal, oil and natural gas have been being considered as prime sources in multifarious countries, while, some nations are more inclined towards renewable and eco-friendly sources: wind, tidal and solar energy. In my tenet, certainly, such practice would have good impact on the society as well as on the environment. To embark upon, the natural process of forming the conventional fuels is too slow with respect to unfettered rate of consumption of it in the present day. Hence, these sources are considered as scarce resources, which might be abolished in next few decades due to its unsustainable exploitation. Therefore, the substantial revamps done by many developed countries to motivate the utilization of non-conventional sources could be lucrative solution to fulfil unprecedented energy need of the technological world. In India, for an instance, the 85% of electricity has been generated by thermal power plants in which coal is used as a fuel. However, for last 10 years, the government is encouraging the compatriots to install solar roof top at their premises, so that the solar energy can supersede the need of energy generated by coal and the coal can be used for other imperative needs. Moreover, the carbon foot print generated by the fossil fuel has sinister effects on the environment. Momentarily, whole world is witnessing the diminishing impacts of global warming that are caused by greenhouse gases emitted during combustion of fossil fuels. To curtail this burning issue, the eco-friendly resources ought to be promoted and practiced by authorities. Although, these sources have some problem with continuity of supply, the persistent research and enhanced technology could mitigate this setback and make them reliable. For an example, many German automobile companies are indulged in the research related to optimum performance of electric cars, which would make petrol or diesel cars absolute in the public life and make travel more economical than before, and preserve the environment. To recapitulate, the utilization of renewable energy sources is the need of the hour for this modern society, as the supply of fossil fuel is limited and the eco-system is suffering from immense pollution due to convention practices. Hence, I reiterate my stand that it is lucrative a step to switch into alternative energy sources and make the earth better place to live.