The gap between rich and poor is increasing. What problems does it cause? What solutions can you suggest?

Income inequality has become the focus of political debate and press attention over recent years. The reason is the disparities of income distribution between rich and poor are rising. The trend of rising income inequality causes a growth of unemployment rates as well as crime rates. In my opinion, however, the problem of income gap can be solved by reducing levels of corruption, and raising the minimum wage. Income gap creates a number of problems in society. One of these problems is the increase in crime rates, because poor people who are financially in trouble, easily commit crime in order to maintain their families. For instance, today, countries with a higher level of income inequality suffer from high levels of crime. In addition, unequal income distribution leads to the problems associated with unemployment. To illustrate, researches conducted in developing and underdeveloped countries found an association between high unemployment rates and high levels of income equality. Thus, the growing problems associated with both crime and unemployment can be considered as a result of the income gap. To address these problems, there are a handful of effective solutions. Firstly, countries with unequal countries in terms of income suffer from high levels of corruption. If policy makers desire to reduce income inequality, they should halt political corruption. For example, South Korea, where had the highest level of income equality in 2015, has achieved to minimise the corruption rates over a period of a decade, and today the country has a lower level of the income gap compared to the given year. Additionally, raising the minimum wages is the effective way to reduce the gap between rich and poor. For instance, after Turkey raise the minimum wage (2020 TL) in 2018, the level of the income gap decreased considerably despite the fact the average income of the richest 10% of the population is still about nine times that of the rest of the population in Turkey. Therefore, government should take into account to fight against the corruption, and raise the minimum wages. In conclusion, income inequality is a growing problem around the world. It comes with the growth of crime rates, and unemployment rates. However, the policy makers can address these social and economic problems by implementing rational laws related to political corruption and the minimum wages.