The food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think it would be better to our environment and economy if people only ate only locally produced food. What extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Food is an essential part of survival of any living being. To fulfill this, need sometimes it is sent from far away places to reach consumer. but on the contrary, it creates pollution and detrimental to the local businesses. I am going to discuss both points as follows. As a start, some areas do not have farms and cannot have their own crops, vegetables and fruits. They have to buy from different other agricultural places. For instance, cities do not have their own consumables along with certain hilly areas. Their soil is not suitable for such produce. They must buy from another places. Secondly, sometimes it is cheaper to buy from other country than your own. because that country may have cheaper resources to produce the same product. As a result, they sell on low price without compromising high quality. For example, 10 million cost of banana is imported on a monthly basis from India to Pakistan. Some restaurants sell exotic and unique dishes to high class celebrities and businessman. They need vegetables and fruits, which are not available in the local market. Therefore, they have to get them from other areas. But on the contrary, there is downside of these as well. These travel through airplanes, trains and trolleys which consume fuel and discharge fusel gases, which is harmful for the environment and increase air pollution and result of the global warming and if we do not check on these issues, in near future they will get out of control. Secondly, when food is not bought from local people, it will damage the economy. Businesses will go bankrupt and poverty will increase. In conclusion, i will say to strengthen our economy, we should support our own people and try to buy from local people mostly. On products which are not available and essential for a specific purpose should be gained from other means.