Question: Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays media plays an important role in our daily lives. Undoubtedly, both movies and television have had a great impact in our lifestyle. Some people believe that watching movies and shows can be a bad influence and have negative effects on young people' s behaviour. However, I disagree with that statement and believe that movies and television have positive effects. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore on the following essay. First of all, both television and movies can provide educational content for young people. Many television shows and movies have deep themes with important moral messages that youngster can learn from them. There are movies and shows that transmit stories of strong lead characters that although they experience many hardships, they are able to learn an important life lesson and become stronger. For example, Spirited Away is a movie about a young girl who founds herself trapped into another dimension with her parents. Chihiro was a spoiled girl that only cared about her desires at the beginning of the movie but in order to survive in that world and save her parents, she learnt to help other and she became a more independent, and selfless person. Furthermore, she met many people that supported her and helped her to endure the hard situation. At the end, she understood that she could only face challenges by being brave and having the support of others. Therefore, movies and television shows can provide educational content and children learn about morality and values through entertaining stories. In addition, watching television programmes or movies can be a relaxing acitivity that help youngsters to relieve stress. Young people and children can also feel stress and anxiety due to several reasons like schoolwork. Watching television or going to the cinema can help them to unwind and rest their minds for a few hours. For instance, when I was in high school I used to go to the movies with friends on friday nights after school. This activity helped us to get distracted for a few hours after a tiring week full of exams and homework. After a fun activity, our bodies would feel rested and relaxed. It is important for students to find time to get distracted from daily activities. Otherwise, they could become overwhelmed from all the school work and behave inappropiate due to the accumulated stress. In conclusion, I strongly believe that movies and television have more positive effects on young people behaviour. As long as young people set limits to the time they spent in front of a screen, watching both TV and movies can provide positive effects.