The food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think it would be better to our environment and economy if people only ate local produced food. What extent do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Food takes a necessary part in human’s life in order to lengthen the lifespan and give us adequate energy to complete daily activities. Some people will opt for imported food from other countries while some of them prefer fresh and healthy food made locally. Personally, I believe there are a lot more benefits if people solely ate food produced from local farmers, reasons will be showcased in the following. To start off, it is understandable that there might be a lack of variety of food options via local farmers because of the season and weather changes, resulting a group of people may not receive the food choices they have desired. However, purchasing food in a regional manufacturer can help to preserve the environment in the long run. It can be explained that there are less plastics and fossil fuels used during the packaging and transportation process. Food which has travelled a great distance from other nations often wrapped by a sizeable amount of solid wastes which are highly difficult to be decomposed. Comparatively, supporting the local food market can help the sustainability of eco-system and create less pollution to the environment. On the other hand, intaking freshly grown farm products planted locally can undoubtedly help to sustain the economy of a community as it can generate more job opportunities and encourages more people to be a part in the farming industry. It can also ensure the farmer getting their regular monthly payoffs so as to continue to run their planting business. Moreover, other farm-related jobs can also be beneficial from it such as food processing operations and transportation career. To conclude, I deem that the advantages of consuming food farmed locally are more than it disadvantages. While concerning the sake of the ecosystem and a country’s economy, humankinds should consider increasing their supports to the local farming production.