The food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think it would be better to our environment and economy if people only ole only locally produced food. What extent do the advantages out weigh the disadvantages?

Everyone would love to eat different types of foods in all season. Some people have the opinion that imported food has a detrimental effect on the local economy and culture and it would be better if people ate only locally produced food. However, I oppose this view. In my opinion, imported food brings many advantages and benefits which outweigh the disadvantages. To begin with, imported food has a negative effect on the local market. This can be seen in country like Japan, where imported food has become more popular compare to local traditional food. Secondly, imported food is not as fresh as it travels thousand of miles in packed containers so eating this kind of food can make people sick as well. On the flip side, There are numerous advantages of imported food. Firstly, imported food travel thousand of miles via air, sea or roads and countless people are associated with this such as wholesalers, labour, transport companies and many more. It generates employment for all of them. Secondly, it helps trade between countries. We all know, any country would not able to produce all varieties of food due to the different climate. Any country can produce only some variety of food and rest of them, they have to import from other countries. To illustrate with an example, India produces a very little quantity of kiwis annually and it would not fulfil the country needs. So India import kiwis from different countries and export other food to those countries which helps in the economy. To conclude, undoubtedly there are few disadvantages of imported food like it is not fresh, but Imported food has plenty of advantages such as generate employment and allow country to export other items which helps in the economy. Looking into all these factors, I believe imported food advantages outweigh its disadvantages.