The food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think it would be better to our environment and economy if people only ate local produced food. What extend does the advantage outweigh disadvantage?

Globalization has made it possible to trade food items from one corner of the world to another, whereas it is believed that this trend would be detrimental to the domestic producers and the local environment of a nation. Therefore, in order to avoid this, the purchase of desi crop varieties should be promoted. In my opinion, I think the advantages of buying local eatables override its demerits. Admittedly, people have the desire to taste and explore different varieties of food items that are being produced across the globe. Although some of these are essential in curing specific types of diseases besides their deliciousness. To illustrate it, the kiwi fruit is originated and cultivated in Australia, however, its consumption is maximum in South Asian countries because it is quite helpful in curing dengue, an ailment caused by biting of a particular mosquito. Apart from this, eating foreign cuisines is sometimes considered as a status symbol in the developing economies such as India, Pakistan and Bangladesh. Nonetheless, consuming and purchasing indigenous edible items is advantageous for the local community and ecosystem. In other words, the procurement of original crop species would provide direct benefits to the farmers of that specific region, and increases their income levels. Consequently, their standards of living will be uplifted, which is ultimately going to affect whole society in a positive way. Moreover, It is also observed in past years that non-indigenous varieties brought some unwanted and dangerous things with them which has deteriorated the local biodiversity. Congress grass, for instance, was introduced in India by America in late '80s when they shipped the seeds of this weed by mixing in the high yielding wheat crop seeds, and now this grass has spread across the nation. It is contaminating the ecosystem by producing poisonous fruits and also interfering in the growth of surrounding wheat seedlings. In conclusion, tasting and importing foreign foods may fascinate some people, however, purchasing domestic food products would aid local agriculturists to uplift their standards which is beneficial for both the environment and country in the long term.