People often do not interact with their neighbours and this is harming communities. What are the possible causes and solutions?

These days communication between neighbours is coming to naught, and, as a result, this harmfully influences society. The issue occurs for several reasons, for instance, a furious pace of contemporary life, but there are solutions, which can be implemented to address the situation. People are living in a particular era where the rate of life is enormously rapid, and, ultimately, this creates a lack of social intercourse between lodgers who live near each other. Firstly, as soon as the Internet became an indispensable part of a human life, people started having an abundance of communication, be it by social media or making phone calls. According to a recent survey by the American Ministry of Culture, only 10% of participants know their neighbours and get in touch with them on a regular basis, but what is more interesting is that the remaining 90% of respondents say that they have no desire to have a new acquaintance with unfamiliar persons, and there is no need for doing it. Secondly, men spend an overwhelming majority of their time at work, and, eventually, this leads to the absence of energy by the end of a week and, subsequently, attention to their families. For this reason, during weekends individuals prefer being with their relatives and relaxing to having a dialogue with their neighbours. In some countries, authorities and local commercial organisations attempt to shrink the distance between neighbours by applying diverse methods. For instance, some Canadian neighborhood associations organize festivals, BBQ parties and other exciting entertainment events for citizens, which can help people to combat shyness, unsociability and to establish an affable connection between members of the community. Another example which the public should take into account is shown in Germany, where police conducts an information campaign on television. The information is focused on the necessity of knowing one’s neighbours and their vehicles, because this can forestall minor crimes. In summary, it is known that increasingly fewer persons know their neighbours, and this happens due to an excessive amount of day-to-day communication with friends and the particularities of human nature, but imposing simple methods, for instance, establishing a common holiday for residents, can augment people’s relationships.