The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

Using cars as a mean of transportation is becoming increasingly popular all around the world. It is widely believed that other modes of transportation need to be promoted and international and global laws and rules should be imposed to take a control over owning and utilizing the cars. I strongly agree with that statement by considering the harmful effects that have been occurred due to rising number of private cars. Therefore, this essay will discuss the potential negative impacts that have been caused due to cars and the way how above said measure can be tackled this problem. To begin with, an elevating amount of cars in the road could lead to pose a threat to the environment in many ways. One of the glaring issues is carbon emission due to fuel burning. There is a positive correlation between number of cars and amount of carbon particles in the surrounding. Subsequently, it produces the vast amount of greenhouse gases, which ultimately raise the global temperature. As a result, all the human beings and animals in the world has been suffering from high temperature in various ways, such as bushfire, volcanic eruption and sea level rise. Apart from the environmental problem, at present, health of the people markedly deteriorates because of the poor air quality. This enormously puts the burden to the government for investing huge amounts of money into health sector in order to meet the people’s needs, thus leading less investment into the country’s economic sector. Having said that, this above suggested new measure is one of the best ways to control the negative effects associated with the car usage. For example, if the public transport is well developed and accomadate the needs of people, then they would choose to commute through the buses or trains instead of cars, thus would decline the number of cars in the roads. Further, international laws, such as imposing heavy taxes, should be introduced to reduce purchasing of cars as well as its usage. Also, fuel price needs to be increased globally in order to prevent the people from using cars unnecessarily. On the whole, this two notions would able to control the private cars usage to a certain extent. In conclusion, while it is certainly true that cars are one of the necessities for people who are living in today world, it is inevitable that it should be controlled given consideration to the damages it has been causing. Therefore, I strongly agree that above said measures should be taken to effectively tackle this problem.