The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

With a rapid growth of the human population in recent decades, there is also an increasing demand for transportation among people. Personal vehicles, which are convenient and reliable, have become one of the main transport means. From my perspective, I strongly agree that the number of personal vehicles should be limited, and other alternative transportations should be introduced. Admittedly, people rely on motorized transportation to travel. It is believed that people tend to choose the most convenient and efficient way to traveling somewhere and commuting from workplace to residence. If public transportations, such as railway, underground subway or bus services are easily accessible and economical, more people will utilize them for their own benefit. In addition, encouraging sharing cars can be a method to decrease the reliance on private vehicles. Thus, it is essential that governments invest money in improving transport systems. Turning to the other part, introducing regulations to limit the number of private cars is helpful in controlling the environment pollution and the issues of traffic congestion jams. Once government carries out this regulation, citizens with a parking spot are entitled to become the owner of the car, which will effectively cut down the number of cars on the road. In addition, raising the tax of registration of a private car or increasing the fuel price can discourage people from using a car. In this case, not only can the traffic condition be improved but also the emission of exhaust can be reduced. In conclusion, I am firm to say that both actions should be taken to deal with this issue. Only when alternative ways to travel have been formed and a strict law has been implemented, the amount of car ownership can be reduced. Otherwise, life may be tougher because of that environmental pollution and traffic blockage.