The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

Since 1888, cars drive on British streets and in 2000 we already had 29 million vehicles in Britain. Some people think, that alternative transportation forms should be encouraged and vehicle and it would be good to control ownership and use by international laws. This essay agrees with this approach and wants to point out some reasons. First of all, using less cars and going by bike or foot will enhance our health. People often use their vehicle for short distances which can easily be used for physical activity. For instance, I know dwellers of suburbs which could easily use their bikes for their daily way to work, but it is way more comfortable to drive by car, so they choose taking that. Nowadays, we sit all day it would enhance our health when we would just use our feet to go to work. If the government would use vehicle usage controls, most people would start to ride their bike more often because mostly, it is easy to do it. The second reason is the protection of our environment. Car emissions produce a lot of CO2 and furthers climate change. Most of the time, people don’t take public transportation like bus or train, which would be much more sustainable, because it is very expensive. For example, the one-way train between Graz and Linz costs 40 euros. That’s why many students borrow their parent’s car, even if sustainability is important for them, because it is much cheaper. Encouraging public transportation by making them cheaper would motivate people to use them more often and protect our environment. To conclude, furthering alternative forms of transportation would enhance human’s health and the environment. Often, people are just too lazy to use their bike, which can be counteracted by controlling the use of vehicles. Moreover, making public transportation cheaper would be a great incentive for a higher use of them.