The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

The Automobile Industry was one of the major outcomes of the Industrial Revolution, without which the current world wouldn't be even imaginable. Having a car, in the last years of the 18th century, certainly made life easier for the people as before its advent, aplenty horse-pulled carts were rolling about, in England. While I do understand and agree that the growth of the automobile industry, especially the cars, has made life simpler and the world smaller, I believe that an uncontrolled abundance of them would cause severe, adverse effects on the environment due to the resources they require and their effluent by-products. The growth of these vehicles can largely be attributed to the increase in transportation requirements for the humankind. Humankind, in its unprecedented growth in the 19th and 20th centuries, has sought after a lot of transportation and the cars and such vehicles have always contributed highly towards the same. They have been inevitable in the last few decades without which normal life seems impossible. The growing population in the world, in turn, increases the need and requirement of resources which also directly impacts the automobile industry. The resources needed by these vehicles which include fossil fuels and other such forms of hydrocarbons are dangerous to the environment and are still being used in perilously large amounts. Frankly, considering this world as it is today, we cannot abandon the four-wheeled machines of wonder entirely. Rather than being a luxury, these cars have become necessities of the 21st century's materialistic world. This is why further modes of accommodation, especially public accommodation, should be considered. When using a public bus, you're transporting 30-50 people while roughly utilizing the same amount of fuel with which a car would've transported 4 people. Different types of fuel that are less impactful on the environment and nature should be advocated, as well. Bringing in worldwide laws that specify how many vehicles a person can own along with proper pollution prevention mechanisms will help in handling the global issues, all the while, making sure that the automobile industry thrives and continues to provide for the unyielding, relentless needs and requirements of humankind.