Many people decide on a career path early in their lives and keep to it. This, they argue, leads to a more satisfying working life. What other things can people do in order to have a satisfying working life?

People who determined their majors early in their life and followed it are likely to satisfy with their works. I personally agree with this idea to some extents and several actions could be done to obtain that satisfaction. On the one hand, a well preparation can lead to career satisfaction. When a young individual decided and committed to a major, he or she then would try to acquire a needed education and skills to have a concrete foundation before entering a competitive job market. Therefore, that young person might have gotten a job easier and built up more experience over time, which gradually resulted in receiving many recognitions and a sense of career contentment eventually. Nonetheless, this might not be the true if they did not have a passion for what they had chosen. A numerous surveys have also shown that personal preference would change multiple times during a working life. This is one of the reasons why, after working a long time, several people would wish to change their career path when they found a distinct thing, which they felt happy and was willing to devote for, despite of having had significant achievements in that pathway. On the other hand, to have a satisfying working life, having in-depth conversations with as many seniors as possible probably a first basic step. Because experienced people can give a lot of valuable advices for those who graduate from high school needing inputs to choose an academic or a vocational education. Another suggestion can be considered that is to share career’s expectations with employees during the interview and prior to accepting a job offer letter. This enables employers and companies to have a mutual understanding to collaborate well together in the future, in which both sides can boost each other to fulfill shared development goals. In conclusion, to have an early decision and commitment would bring a career path contentment, but in a long term, there are many other things should be done to achieve it.