Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets, many small local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have various options in order to do shopping. Some people state that the growth of supermarket chains will affect the survival of small villages as a result of the disappearance of in-town businesses. This essay argues that local people will continue buying at their local stores and that a village´s economy is not fully dependent on supermarkets. Big food chains represent a threat to local grocery shops but only to partial extent. Due to the fact that grocery shops within villages usually offer artisanal products, are cheaper and closer, local people will continue buying in those places. To illustrate, women will continue to shop with their local greengrocer because those places often offer fresher and less expensive products AROUND THE CORNER. Supermarkets will most likely become just another option where individuals can buy their products. Supermarkets might contribute to the disappearance of local food shops, however, this trend will not bring the death of local communities because towns are not only dependent on these kinds of businesses for their survival. In fact, a great number of small villages employ people in the service and tourism sectors. For example, the community around San Juan Teotihuacan in Mexico mainly works in restaurants, hotels or sells local crafts to tourists. Villagers are often creative and adapt their jobs to the economic opportunities available. People are able to buy the items they need in a number of places. Although supermarket chains might leave some local businesses broke, they will not harm town´s economies as a whole.