The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

The use of cars has drastically increased over the last century. Globally and in Britain alone, there are currently millions of motor vehicles on the street. While cars remain the most popular form of transport, I strongly agree that there should be alternative forms of transport and policies to control car ownership and use. I will present my opinion in the following paragraphs. Many people argue that the invention of cars has provided a quick and easy way for people to go from point A to point B. Compared to public transport, for example, the tram, which has many stops along its route, car drivers can reach their destination without having to go through unnecessary stops. Cars are more comfortable, with comfy seats and a stereo system, not to mention the fact that car users do not have to share their ride with strangers unless they choose to do so. However, the huge increase in the number of cars on the street has caused several major concerns including issues with congestion as well as air and noise pollution. In metropolitan areas, congestion occurs almost daily. The more cars there are, the more traffic jams we have to endure. Apart from congestion, the exhaust gas produced from millions of cars has contributed to many environmental problems. In addition, the beeping and honking and loud engine noise from big trucks are generating more noise pollution. In conclusion, the problems associated with the increase in car use are believed to outweigh the benefits of owning a car. Therefore, alternative forms of transport such as trains and trams should be encouraged to help reduce carr ownership and