Some people believe famous people's support towards international aid organizations draws the attention to problems, while others think celebrities make the problems less important.

As some worldwide problems such as hunger, extreme weathers and severe diseases still linger today, celebrities are often involved in some activities held by international aid organizations to help tackle these problems. Personally, while the involvement of famous people may have some negative effects on these activities, I strongly believe they play an important role in helping deal with these problems. The opponents of celebrities’ presence in some charitable activities argue that they would make these problems less important by diverting people’s attention away from the problem itself. This is because once a famous singer or an actor participates in an activity that is aiming to raise some funds for the needy people, the majority of the public, especially the youngsters, tend to focus on the gossip or even affairs of this celebrity. In this case, few people would pay attention to the real purpose of the charitable activity and the goal of raising money would possibly fail. On the other hand, those who are in favour of the participation of celebrities in promoting social welfare believe that these famous people would exert a significant influence on arousing people’s attention. The reason lies in that these celebrities act as spiritual idols for hundreds and thousands of people, and they have nearly millions of followers on their social media. On this occasion, there is a high possibility for their fans to be inspired and just follow what they do if they donate money or support a group of people. For example, Beyoncé is a well-known artist with a huge number of fans all over the world and she has been working on defending women’s basic rights. With her help, an increasing number of people are joining in to help provide high-quality education for girls and eliminate social discrimination against females in their workplaces. In conclusion, I firmly believe that celebrities are indispensable in helping solve problems while they may attract people’s attention on them.