Some people argue that job satisfaction is more important than job security. Other people think one should have a permanent job.

As the career development prospects are very important to almost every job seeker, there has been much discussion about whether one should choose a job because of job satisfaction or job security. Personally, although choosing a satisfying job may bring some benefits, I would argue that a permanent job could help people deal with real-life problems. People who prefer job satisfaction to job security would be more productive and efficient in their work. This is because if the job takes people’s interests, they are more likely to be motivated and then devote their passion and concentration to what they do. For example, those engaging in education may be extremely passionate if they truly love imparting knowledge to students. In addition, satisfying jobs may cause less complaints in the workplace, leading to a fewer possibilities of pressure or even depression among employees. By contrast, choosing a job only because of security may make people feel being forced to work. In this case, they may lose motivation and fail to focus on their work. On the other hand, those who support a permanent job argue that it is important for people living in contemporary world with so much pressure. To be more specific, a permanent job may offer people a relatively fixed income on a monthly basis, which means that they could cover their daily expenses. For example, a permanent job is definitely more suitable for one who needs to pay for bank loans. In addition, a permanent job would hopefully encourage people to put their efforts into work. This is because the chance of being promoted is predictable when employees make contributions to the company that they will work for a long period of time. As a result, people may also work hard with a goal in their mind. In conclusion, while choosing a job out of interests may offer people motivations, I strongly believe that it is important to choose a permanent job in such a competitive society as we have to face a series of problems in life.