Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the disadvantages and advantages of solar energy?

With alarming levels of pollution, the government has been compelled to look for alternate viable sources of energy. Since, Sun energy is the cleanest energy available it has become increasingly famous across the boundaries. As different nations around the world had recognised global warming as a global threat to the planet, they initiated certain steps in the direction to mitigate their carbon emissions in the air. This has led to the emergence of various clean sources of energy like nuclear, wind and solar. Amongst them sun power is the easiest, cheapest and most convenient to use in the households. Even though the installation of a solar plant in a house is a complex process, the long-term cost benefit cannot be overlooked by a family. In addition, to being a cheap source, it is also a renewable energy. And it can be harnessed indefinitely in stark contrast to fossil fuels. We have enough exploited traditional fuels like coal and others; and we are on the verge of their extinction. Thanks to our star Sun, that it is giving its energy free to us; we just have to bear one- time initial cost of installation and then be tension free. However, there are some small downsides to it. Naturally, on cloudy days there is no sun, then how do we harness energy in these days. Though the solar energy can be stored, its efficiency significantly reduces in monsoons. Further, the initial cost is quite high for common people as compared to their annual electricity bill and many of them are not able to afford it. To sum up, solar energy has become famous because it is clean, cheap and renewable source of energy, but it also has a high initial installation cost attached to it.