The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

Some people opine that animals deserve the same status as humans and that they should not be abused by people. However, it is argued that the animals must be used by humans for their multifarious needs including food and research. This essay will examine both views and outline my opinion. Firstly, humans are the most privileged species existing on earth. It is proven by the fact they have the voice and choice to express their feelings and needs. They enjoy most of the rights which other kinds might not have the ability to exercise. Taking this ability for granted, humans take undue advantage and exercise their power on these speechless creatures. Secondly, animals are also living beings, but they can’t voice their opinions or needs. This doesn’t mean that they do not have feelings. It’s just that their medium of expression is different than humans. Just as a coin has two sides, this argument is no exception. Human is considered as a selfish species who does a lot of things for his own benefit. For instance, dog is considered as the man’s best friend. So, many people love to keep them as pets in order to be safe and secure. Another good example for this is proven by people who eat non vegetarian food. Every alternate person loves to eat chicken, mutton or sea food without a single thought of mercy going into their mind. The love for such foods increases the demand in the food market which eventually accentuates the exploitation of animals. Similarly, these innocent creatures are also used for research purposes by many humans. Because of such studies, animals are abused to a large extent. In my opinion, one should be kind to every kind. Just as humans wish to be free, animals also love moving around freely and not being caged or abused for any selfish purposes of humans. In a nutshell, I conclude saying that animals possess equal rights as that of humans. They should have the liberty to enjoy as much as we do.