Scientists believe that in order to protect the environment, people must use less energy in their daily lives. However, most people have not changed the way they live. Why do you think many people have not taken individual action? What could be done to encourage them to take action?

There has been a rising concern with regards to the environment. However, some researchers are on view that, only if individuals change their current lifestyle, it could lead in reducing the consumption of energy. The development in the field of technology, has made the life of the people very convenient. Hence, people have become very habitual towards the extensive usage of energy as it adds comfort to their life. For example, people nowadays do not use much of public transport, as they prefer to use their own vehicle, because it is more comfortable for them. In addition, to match up with their current fast paced life, people now have changed their traditional cooking habits, as now they prefer cooking meals in microwaves which takes lesser time but consumes more energy. Moreover, as people are not directly impacted, a number of people fail to understand the importance of the energy preservation. Furthermore, the lack of awareness among the people in regards to energy preservation, has resulted in no actions being taken. In my view, the government intervention could be needed to encourage people to take actions to reduce the consumption of energy. To start with, the government can improve the public transportation system, which can encourage the individuals to use the public transport. Secondly, the government should also organise awareness programs which, can educate and encourage the individuals to save energy. In my conclusion, it is important that as individuals we need to take measures to reduce and avoid wastage of energy. However, the government can create awareness among people, which could support this cause.