The exploration and development of safe alternatives to fossil fuels should be the most important global priority today.

Many people believe that the research for green and safe energy as a replacement for oil should be the main global priority these days. To a certain point, I would agree with that, but some considerations should be cautiously measured as well. It is true that as for the sake of the environment, people should seek for a safer and cleaner source of energy. It is undeniable that the world has become overdependence on fossil fuels such as coal and oil as their source of energy. Consequently, air pollution has become a serious issue in certain cities such as Beijing and Mexico City. Therefore, some countries have been spending a large amount of money for the development of the renewable energy. Some of the examples would be the solar panel system, windmill, nuclear plant and hydro. In fact, the time has come for the world to work together in harmony to introduce an effective solution towards the invention and use of an alternative fossil fuel. Despite all the positive sides of alternative energy, people should also be aware of several things. Firstly, many people do not realise that some of these energy generators are also dangerous for the environment. For example, many scientists believe that nuclear power plants are friendly to the environment, but these plants must be carefully maintained. A small leakage in the generator could become a fatal issue for the society, as in such cases it became a national disaster. Secondly, the expenditure for research and development of green energy worldwide is higher than the exploration cost of fossil fuels. Consequently, the government must also provide an extra budget for that around the world. It is also difficult for all nations to work together towards the introduction of an alternative energy source. For instance, the USA might adopt a policy not to use the fossil fuel and invest in a more environment-friendly energy source, however, adopting this same policy for countries like India and Pakistan would be quite impossible. In conclusion, to a certain point, I would agree that we should seek for safer and greener sources of energy as an alternative to fossil fuels globally. But I also believe that numerous research should also be conducted with proper feasibility studies and cautious measurements as it could also have catastrophic effects on the environment as well. And then the government in each country should also provide a higher budget for research as they are more expensive than the fossil fuel exploration.