The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world.

There is no doubt the growth in the business of tourism has supported English to become the most powerful language in the world. While there are many benefits to English emerging as the only language accepted globally, there are also some drawbacks to consider. In this essay, I will discuss both the views. On the one hand, if English is accepted as the solitary language worldwide, no language barriers would be left between people. They will be able to communicate with ease all across the world. For example, a person well-spoken in French travels to another country, despite of not being familiar with the language used there, he will be able to communicate with other people in a hassle-free manner. Furthermore, this will lead to more socializations among people from different places. As a result, more interactions will be promoted. On the other hand, it would have a negative impact on the diverse cultures and languages. This is because there are multiple languages supported across world, and supremacy of one will affect the other one’s as the usage of others will reduce substantially. For instance, people belonging to a specific lingual would stop speaking much in the same, which would affect their mother tongue badly. Moreover, it will become mandatory for all people to learn English. As a consequence, it will rule as the dominant one among all other languages. In conclusion, although there are multiple pros of English rising as the globally accepted language, there are some cons which needs to be taken into consideration as well, because it can have a huge impact for all the existing languages in the world.