There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the International music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

In recent times, music has attracted a widespread attention right from the west to east. Certainly music comes with various flavours ranging from Classic to Pop or Rock. This essay will share some reasons about the needs of music and a comparison between the traditional music of a country versus the famed international music which dominates around the globe. To begin with, music gives us a soothing effect or a relaxation from our daily stressful environments. This culture started from our early ancestors who used various forms of music as a symbol of entertainment as well as their identity. Furthermore, there are various psychologists who openly state that music acts as a magic potion for people struggling against chronic depression. Interestingly, music is the only component which binds everyone across all the age groups, although differs with varying shades of intonation and harmony. Having said that, there is an endless argument in deciding whether the indigenous music of a country supersedes the music which is globally famed. It is to be understood that, not every human on this earth got a chance to listen and understand the international music, as it enormously demands the understanding of the language and the nuances. However, all of us will surely be able to understand the local music which is composed by our own countrymen. This gives people a home grown advantage to hear the local music and cherish the emotions. For example, not everyone would be familiar with Taylor Swift’s songs or music, however, all of the Indians have a credible knowledge about A. R Rahman’s songs and his way of composing music. To recapitulate, the music transcends the country’s borders and it achieves global recognition and acceptance. In the era of globalisation, it is inappropriate to classify local or global music. If the local music is propagated through the right channels, it can reach multiple spectators and can put the country on the spotlight. Therefore, it all depends upon the medium through which the music has been promoted.