The college years are the best time in a person's life. Agree or Disagree. Give reasons to support your opinion.

There is no doubt that practical exposure is as important as theoretical knowledge. A number of people think that much hour is devoted to teaching the facts instead of focusing on hands-on experience in all phases of learning, whether it is school or college. I completely agree with the statement and in this essay I will support my view with valid arguments and examples. Most of the institutes follow the conventional method of teaching which includes reading, learning and writing. By this method, children can only recall concepts for a limited amount of hour and when it is hour to apply that knowledge at work they have forgotten it. Consequently, many students who have degrees in physics or electronics cannot even change bulbs. Likewise, many MBAs cannot fill out a tax form. All of these point to the shortcomings of a system of learning that focuses only on philosophy. Another example of this is that the current curriculum does not have an equal number of assumption and practical classes. To illustrate, while I had one lecture each day on the theoretical aspects of computers), there was only 1 laboratory session in the whole week. Due to this improper division, I could not practice everything being taught and hence lacked a proper understanding of the concepts. If we had an equal proportion of philosophy and practical classes, I would have gained better skills and confidence. A recent study by the educational department of New Delhi has shown that youngsters who were shown experiments were able to memorize and retain the information for a longer period of time then the ones who read it. To conclude, I agree with the argument that much time is being spent on cramming instead of experimental learning because of the current structure of teaching. Unfortunately, this overemphasis on theory prevents / stops students from acquiring real world skills.