The care of old people is a growing problem. Some say the government should care for old people. Others say that it is the family’s responsibility.

The geriatric care has become an issue all over the world as it is no longer clear that who has the responsibility the authority or the family. I accord with the view that, it is the duty of both the authority and the relatives of old ones’ to take care of them; in this essay, both these viewpoints will be argued with the relevant supporting ideas and example. On the one hand, the duty of the government towards the geriatrics cannot be denied. Firstly, the administration should have the surplus monetary funds for their responsibility and medical facilities owing to the fact that they are unemployed at this age. Furthermore, considering the risk of their health factors, the medical treatments should be rendered to them without any know how. Indeed, a recent survey in Sweden showed a drastic upsurge in the decline rate of the death rate in the last decade. On the flip side, despite the fact that the government officials should take them as their liability, the idea that the family members should support them in their late ages cannot be overlooked. The geriatrics have developed an intellect of staying with their family and loved ones, and when the members have not enough money to provide them with all medical amenities they have to leave these old individuals to the care homes. Moreover, the hectic work schedule has widened the gap between the elderly person and the new generation and they have less or no time left with them to spend with the golden-ager’s in their family. This can be easily seen in my country where nowadays no one is ready to take responsibility of their relatives at the dotage. To conclude, I opine that above argued opinions can be easily resolved if the mix of both the views could be potentially applicable. Although the government should provide more money for the golden-agers, the relatives should also spend time with the old-fogey so that they can feel comfortable and contented.