The burning of oil for transport especially in private cars is wasteful and environmentally irresponsible. Taxation on petrol and diesel fuel should be increased to very high level to discourage the use of private cars.

Recent years have witnessed an alarming hike in the price of fuels. Some members of the society believe that the excessive usage of private vehicles are the major cause of depleting levels of fuels. So an alternative solution recommended against this phenomenon was to implement taxation on petrol and diesel rather than inefficient awareness programs. Although a major proportion of the people disagree to this solution, it is a wise decision which could be considered. Increased tax on these sources of energy namely-petrol and diesel can make public’s life worser, thereafter, people have to allocate a good portion of their incomes on these fuels. This in turn, leads to imbalances in the financial requirement of the people. Not only does it puts people in a financial crisis, it also restricts their freedom to travel. Moreover, such a situation can enhance nation wie protests and violence against the governments. Although, it is necessary that people should have a better living condition, imposing high tax on fuels can help a better outcome of reduced wastage of these energy sources readily. Not only does it helps to meet the current need of these resources, it also enriches their sustainability. For instance, saving from today can help the present and future generation to enjoy the advantages of these resources. It is expected that a marked increase in the fuel prices will lead to a dramatic decrease in the usage of them. Inspite of the fact that this makes people less prone to the generous use of fuels, it also counts to the protection of environment. If this scenario arises, people will opt for more public transport which leads to decreased levels of polluting agents emitted. Thus, it can be concluded that imposing heavy tax is a better solution however a gradual increase will be more beneficial.