The best way to understand other culture is to work for a multinational company or organization.

Some people suggest that the most effective way to understand another culture is to work in a company with employees from different countries. Although you may have a glimpse of the culture of your colleagues, I believe that this not the most viable way to learn another culture. By working with other nationalities one may learn at least a part of their way of life and other practices. For example, on what type of food they eat and the way they consume it. However, asking and knowing are not good enough for us to fully understand their culture. In addition, working in multinational company does not guarantee that you will be dealing with another race. There are certain company positions that do not require a lot of dealing with others, like for example being a software developer whose job is mostly on computer encoding and very seldom has the chance to talk with other colleagues. There are better ways to fully understand others culture. One of which is by visiting their own place to experience their culture. By going in someone’s locality, we have the chance to practice their culture and that way we will fully learn and appreciate it. For instance, in Japan they have the practice of being too respectful and punctual by experiencing this we will fully understand it clearly. Furthermore, reading books regarding culture is another good way to gain knowledge of other cultures. Norms and ways of life are being discussed and it is a helpful source of information. Though working in a multicultural company provides you a glimpse of someone's culture, I don’t think this is the best way to learn others culture. There are better ways to do it like visiting places and reading books.