Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

Crime is a social phenomena which is extremely dangerous and many countries struggle with it. There are two opposite perspectives for reducing the crime rate and dealing with criminals. Some people argue that giving longer prison sentences helps to decrease the crime rate. However, others suggest that many alternative methods will be effective in dipping the crime rate. From my point of view, the second view is the best for dealing with this problem. So I will discuss those views and share with you many verdicts which emphasize my opinion. On the one hand, many people believe in the strict punishment such as giving longer prison sentences makes criminals afraid of repeating their crimes again. As well as, no body will dare to do any violent acts. For example, the Egyptian government has launched a law which stipulates that twenty- five years sentence for a killer. Actually, after this law, the murders got lower than before. Although, this way can reduce the crime rate but there are other ways which make people do not need to do any crime. On the other hand, regarding the second view, we will reveal the alternative ways. Firstly, providing people with a good education. Undoubtedly well- educated people have high levels of awareness and culture. Secondly, giving people equal opportunities in their social life because that helps people do not feel oppressed. Thirdly, not allowing for any one having a gun is considered a powerful way. Government has to permit it after doing a test for people and following strict procedures. For instance, Japanese shooting rate got the lowest in all over the world because they made having a gun more restricted. In conclusion, using alternative modern ways will be better not only for decreasing the number of crimes but also for prohibiting people to do that.