Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important.

In the last decade, unemployment emerged as one of the top issues across the world. Some people believe that college education gives better opportunities to acquire a job where as few others argue that practical knowledge and interpersonal skills plays a vital role. This essay would succinctly into both the side and would derive at a plausible conclusion. First of all, tertiary education provides theoretical knowledge about a particular field, which is the one of the qualifications expected by the employers. A university graduate could grasp faster in the professional environment because of the specialization obtain from the education. To exemplify, computer science course contains programming languages such as Java that are used widely in the workplace, could assist a person to secure a job offer easily. Moreover, with the increase in job applications, some employers use university qualification as minimum criteria to filter the applicants. However, experience and soft skills play a crucial role in the job market. Some occupations require skill such as innovation and problem-solving skills, which cannot be obtained in graduate schools. For instance, Mark Zuckerberg, who is a college dropout as well as the founder of a world leading social media platform became successful through his experience and skills. In addition to that, these skills become more important when people wants to move forward in their career. In conclusion, finding a job becomes more challenging day by day. Although tertiary education could help job seekers to get a job, practical knowledge is a must to sustain at the work. This essay suggests that both the college education as well as specialized knowledge and skills are necessary to prosper in the career.