In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it?

There is no dearth of well educated and qualified graduates that are currently unemployed in todays world. This has become a common issue faced by nations irrespective of their development status. The reasons behind this disparity are multifold. Central to this issue is the rising population in the preceding century. In addition, the betterment of our healthcare systems has led to a prolonged life expectancy. These two factors have worked in tandem and eventually led to this chasm between the demand and supply of employment opportunities. Moreover, the 21st century has witnessed a boom in automation technologies, which has resulted in certain kinds of manual labour becoming obsolete. This has been notable in the packaging and supply chain industries. Industry leaders such as Amazon and Uber have been pushing for further automation in our daily lives. Finally, more and more people have been attending colleges and universities which focus on academic development over skill building or vocational expertise. In my opinion, we need to approach this conundrum using a multipronged solution which focusses on increasing job creation and diversification of vocational skill building at a pre university level. This will ensure enhanced local employability. In this age of communication and globalisation, we must also shift our focus towards creating a global work force geared towards environmental issues and preservation of natural resources. To summarise, I believe that the rising unemployment rates are a result of the exponential population growth along with the prolongation of average life expectancy. Another significant contributor is the increased use of automation in industries. Our approach to rectify this issue will depend on job creation and global collaboration.