Nowadays people make new friends through social networks and internet chat groups. Some people think this is good. Other think that face-to-face interaction is essential.

With the invention of the internet and world wide web, come the new spaces for people to socialise such as social networks and chatrooms. Some people believe that these technologies allow them to befriend more people. The other argue that relationships should be established via real world interaction. Many within the general public feel that using cyberspaces to meet new people as the internet is beneficial as it eliminates physical barriers between them. For example, when a distance has not been an issue, people across the globe can communicate with others who live in other countries or even the other side of the world. Talking with new friends via social networks or chatroom also costs so little time which instead would be required for travelling and socialisation, making it suits a modern lifestyle which people are usually confined in their workplace more. Therefore, people will have more opportunity to find a new friendship free from distances. Others insist on the importance of physical interaction in establishing a new relationship as they believe it can be more truthful than other forms of communication. There are many parts of body language which cannot be detected from online conservation such as eye contact, gesture, and facial expression. Additionally, because of the presence of these additional social cues, meeting in person makes deception or hiding true intention more difficult. As a result, people can trust the others whom they meet in real world than whom they could not see their face. In conclusion, it is clear that there are benefits and drawbacks from both making friends online and offline. However, in my view, a truthful relationship that can be gain from real world socialisation is more significant.