The best way to solve the world’s environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel. with this statement?

Some individuals believe that raising the cost of fuel is the most effective method to solving world's environmental problems. While I accept that this policy is good to some extent, I believe it is not the best because there are much better measure to reduce environmental issues. it might be a good idea to increase the price of fuel such as coal, petrol and gas because of some reasons. Firstly, by making it more costly to purchase fuel, government can deter people from using personal vehicles. For example, if gasoline is more expensive, people will start using public transport rather than driving a car or riding a motorbike, resulting in a reduction of CO2 emissions, which is responsible for global warming and climate change. Secondly, the decrease in the demand of fuel as a result of high price would lead to the minimization of natural resources exploitation which reduce the problem of waste disposal in such industries. Lastly, as the cost of using fuel is higher, people might use them much more efficient. For example, if gas prices are higher, Europeans will learn how to cope with the cold and only turn on the heater when necessary. However, I would argue that there are much better methods to deal with environmental problems. The first solution us that government should spend more money on conducting research and developing technology to use renewable energy resources including wind, solar and tidal energy instead of natural resources. By doing this, people can reduce energetic burden on nature. The second solution is to have stricter punishments for environmental criminals. For example, people who has been accused of environmental degradation should be required to pay a huge fine or receive a prison sentence. This makes individuals more likely to respect the law, and environmental issues can be limited. Additionally, the government should launch programs or run advertising campaigns to raise people awareness about conserving nature. In conclusion, I believe apart from increasing the price of fuel, there are more effective ways to protect the environment.