Best way to solve the world’s environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel.

When the issue of the upsurge in the cost of petrol and diesel comes into view, there exist conflict opinions. Advocates claim that the escalation in the fuel price will tackle several environmental problems regarding air pollution, whilst others adopt an opposing view that increasing the cost will make no difference to the existing environmental catastrophe. Each side has their own merits, which will be outlined below. For starters, increase the price of gas engine have a tendency to do harm to the standard of living. To be more specific, apart from the expenditure on the maintenance of personal transportation, citizens have to part with their money for their priorities. According to Wikipedia, the yellow vests movement which involved a handful of grassroots from all walks of life in favour of economic justice because the cost of living are too high to afford. What can be inferred from this is the reform in fuel prices may make inhabitants suffer and many people would deprive of essentials living standard. What is more is that shooting up the fare of fuel does not guarantee that inhabitants will cut down on the time using personal transports, which is considered as the contributing factor to pollute. In other words, a handful of people possesses cars and motorbikes because it serves the purpose of personal enjoyment, so a little hike in prices is not of great importance to them. For example, a lot of billionaires buy up to date vehicles monthly because purchasing cars bring them a sense of achievements regardless of the fact that this item may be exorbitant. This directly suggests that once people can splash out on an expensive car, they will have no regard to the upsurge in additional cost. On the other hand, using gas for the engine is to blame for part of pollutions. To be more specific, not only manufacturing sector but also transportation holds responsible for the changing in climate patterns. Recent research suggests that the amount of co2 from factories is the root cause of air pollution, but gases emitted from vehicles do. Accordingly, the fumes from factories only make up for 25% in the leading cause of air deterioration, while transport emission takes up the remaining. This directly indicates that increasing the price of oil is a viable option to strike the environmental disaster. In light of the above arguments, I think that both the drawbacks outweigh the benefits. It is undeniable that environmental catastrophe is the wake up call for the whole society, but the truth is, no one can afford to be without personal vehicles. To relish this challenge, I really believe that the solar engine should be considered as a feasible alternative and government should give a helping hand in raising people’s awareness about protecting the earth.